An Evening with Nikole Hannah-Jones and the 1619 Project Today

An evening with creator and author Nikole Hannah-Jones, joined by Dartmouth artists and faculty.

Nikole Hannah-Jones is the Pulitzer Prize-winning creator of 'The 1619 Project,' a reframing of US history that the centers the arrival of the first enslaved Africans in colonial Virginia. She is a staff writer at The New York Times Magazine and has spent her career investigating racial inequality and injustice. Her reporting earned her the MacArthur Fellowship, known as the Genius grant, a Peabody Award, two George Polk Awards, and the National Magazine Award three times. Named one of TIME's 100 Most Influential People in the World, Hannah-Jones serves as the Knight Chair of Race and Journalism at Howard University, where she is founding the Center for Journalism & Democracy. 

Nikole Hannah-Jones will discuss 'The 1619 Project,' its reception, and her new books—The 1619 Project: A New Origin Story, an instant #1 New York Times bestseller, and The 1619 Project: Born on the Water. She will be joined by Dartmouth artists, students, and faculty.

During the evening, Nikole Hannah-Jones will be taking some questions from the audience. Please submit your questions through the instructions in your order confirmation email.


                                             Friday, April 15, 2022

                                                            7 pm

                                             Spaulding Auditorium

                     Tickets are free but are required.  Get tickets here.


Featured Speakers

Welcome by Dartmouth College President Phil Hanlon
Emcee: Anthony Fosu '24.

Ella L.J. Bell Smith
Tuck School of Business

Vievee Francis
(The 1619 Project contributor), Department of English & Creative Writing

Monica Ndounou
Department of Theater

Musical Interlude: Dartmouth Rockapellas


Joshua Bennett (English and Creative Writing)
Kimberly Juanita Brown (English and Creative Writing)
Michael A. Chaney (English and Creative Writing)
Vievee E. Francis (English and Creative Writing)
Trica Keaton (African and African American Studies)
Deborah K. King (Sociology)
Monica White Ndounou (Theater)
Naaborko Sackeyfio-Lenoch (History)
Sydney Stowe (Hopkins Center for the Arts)

Visit the HOP webpage



Class of 1982 AAAS Academic Enrichment Fund • African and African American Studies (AAAS) • Consortium of Studies in Race, Migration, and Sexuality (RMS) • Dartmouth Library • Digital Humanities and Social Engagement (DHSE) • English and Creative Writing • Ethics Institute • Film and Media Studies • History • Hood Museum of Art • Hopkins Center for the Arts (The Hop) • Geography • Latin American, Latino, & Caribbean Studies (LALACS) • Leslie Center for the Humanities • Master of Arts in Liberal Studies Program (MALS) • Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship Program • Music • Native American and Indigenous Studies (NAIS) •  The Nelson A. Rockefeller Center • Office of Pluralism and Leadership (OPAL) • Offices of the President, Provost, and Deans • Religion • Shabazz Center for Intellectual Inquiry • Sociology • Theater • Tuck School of Business

With our thanks to all working behind the scenes who made this event possible, including Mary Lou Aleskie, Howard L. Gilman '44 Director of the Hop, Michael Bodel (The Hop),  Angela R. Brizant (Opal), Todd Campbell (The Hop), Grant Alexander Cook (Music), Dia Draper (Tuck School of Business), Terry Duane (The Hop), Dennis Grady (Dartmouth Library), Jordana Jusidman (Procurement Contract Specialist), Lisa Meehan (AAAS), Keiselim Montás (Director, Department of Safety & Security), Kelly Palmer (Geography), Karina Z. Sainz (The Hop).